Event Reports

Xtreme Drift Circuit Round 1

March 20, 2010
Irwindale, CA

Report by John Chennavasin

Lance Feliciano

The 2010 drifting season kicks off with the Xtreme Drift Circuit season opener at the Toyota Speedway in Irwindale.

There have been other drifting series in the past to compete with Formula Drift and D1 Grand Prix. The arrangement of these drifting series are similar, with a car show and import models to complement the drifting. The Xtreme Drift Circuit has decided to focus on national grassroots-level drifting instead of trying to compete for the same drivers.

Some Formula Drift drivers including Quoc Ly, Jeff Jones, and Alex Pfeiffer made an appearance at Irwindale.

Forrest Wang vs. Alex Pfeiffer

In the tandem round, Forrest Wang defeated top qualifier Alex Pfeiffer to continue tradition of drifting first-round upsets. However, mechanical issues prevented Wang from continuing past the great eight.

The FC Mazda RX-7 continues to be a popular car with grassroots drifters. There was even a battle between two RX-7 drivers, although both cars had the original rotary engines replaced by small-block V8s. NOPI would have approved of these engine swaps.

Quoc Ly vs. David Briggs

The battle for third place was betwen Jeff Jones and Brian Peter. Peter had the lead after the first run, but his car skidded along the inner oval wall, giving Jones third place.

Quoc Ly vs. David Briggs

David Briggs defeated Quoc Ly to take the top spot. Both drivers had excellent runs, but Ly made a correction while he was chasing Briggs.

The next stop for the Xtreme Drift Circuit will be at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway on May 21 and 22. Nick Hogan will make his series debut in a Nissan 350Z.


Rank Driver Car Points
1 David Briggs Nissan 240SX (S14) 107
2 Quoc Ly Nissan 240SX (S13) 88
3 Jeff Jones Nissan 240SX (S13) 84
4 Brian Peter Mazda RX-7 (FC) 71